Fin | Eng | Swe

Board of Directors

The tasks and responsibilities of the Board of Directors are based on the Limited Liability Companies Act and the Articles of Association. The Board of Directors has adopted rules of procedure guiding its operations. The Board of Directors is responsible for the diligent management of the administration and operations of the company. The Board ensures that the supervision of the company’s accounting and asset management is organised properly.

The Board of Directors is responsible for the company’s strategic development and the steering and monitoring of its business operations. It also decides on the company's key operating principles and follows up on their realisation. Solidium’s Board of Directors makes the investment decisions for the company on the basis of its general authority.

According to the Articles of Association, Solidium’s Board of Directors consists of a minimum of three and a maximum of eight members. The Annual General Meeting elects the chairman, vice chairman and other members of the Board. The term of the Board of Directors expires at the end of the next Annual General Meeting.

Harri Sailas, Chair of the Board

born 1951, M.Sc. (Econ.)

2007–2015  Mutual Pension Insurance Company Ilmarinen, President and CEO
–2007    Various management positions at Nordea and its predecessor banks, most recently as Director of the Helsinki Regional Bank and as Deputy CEO of Nordea Bank Finland

 Positions of trust:

2020– FinnHEMS Oy, Chairman of the Board
2015– Helsinki Deaconess Institute Foundation, Member of the Supervisory Board

Aaro Cantell, Vice chair

born 1964, M.Sc. (Tech.)

2005–  Normet Group Oy, Chairman of the Board, President and CEO
1997–2007   Fenno Management Oy, Managing Partner
1993–1997 Finnish Innovation Fund Sitra, Investment Director

Positions of trust:

2021- Technology Industry of Finland Employers Association, Chairman of the Board
2021- Technology Industries of Finland Centennial Foundation, Chairman of the Board
2016– Valmet Corporation, Vice Chairman of the Board
2015- Finnish Business and Policy Forum EVA, Member of the Supervisory Board


Timo Ahopelto

born 1975, M.Sc. (Tech.) 
2009– Lifeline Ventures, Founding Partner
2006–2009 Blyk, VP Business Development
2000–2006 CRF Health, Founding CEO, VP Commercial Operations
1999–2000 McKinsey & Company, Consultant
Positions of trust: 
2019- Foundation for Private Entrepreneurs, Board Member
2019- New Children´s Hospital Foundation, Board Member
2017– Tieto Oyj, Board Member
2015–2018 Startup Foundation, Board Member
2014–2020 Business Finland, Board Member
2014– Slush Conference, Chairman of the Board
2014– Finnish Business and Policy Forum EVA and Research Institute for Finnish Economy ETLA, Board Member
2014– Helsinki University Innovation Committee, Board Member

Jannica Fagerholm

born 1961, M.Sc. (Econ.)                                                  
2010– Signe and Ane Gyllenberg Foundation, CEO
1999–2010 SEB Gyllenberg Private Bank, CEO
1998–1999 Handelsbanken Liv Finland, Country Manager
1990–1998 Sampo Group, Investment Management Unit

Positions of trust:

2016– Kesko Corporation, Board Member
2013– Sampo Plc, Board Member
2001–  Swedish Society of Literature in Finland, finansrådet


Jouko Karvinen

born 1957, M.Sc. (Tech.)  
2007−2014 Stora Enso Oyj, CEO
2002−2006 Royal Philips, Medical-division, CEO
−2002 ABB Asea Brown Bover, Various leadership positions from 1980
Positions of trust:  
2016− Finnair Oyj, Board Member, Chairman of the Board from 2017
2015− IMD Business School (Lausanne, Switzerland), Member of the Foundation Board

Pevious Board positions: SKF, Nokia, Valmet and Advisor in Komatsu Corporation

Marjo Miettinen

born 1957, PhD. (Ed.)

2021–  Ensto Invest Oy, Member of the Board (Chairman of the Board 2017–2021)
2016–    Ensto Group, Chairman of the Board
2006–2014  EM Group Oy, CEO
2002–2006 Ensto Group, Chairman of the Board
1988–2001 Ensto Group, various management positions

Positions of trust:

2022– European Family Businesses, Member of the Board
2021– The Federation of Finnish Technology Industries, Member of the Board (Chairman of the Board 2019–2021)
2021– P2X Solution Oy, Member of the Board
2020–  Ministry of Education and Culture, Member of Research and Innovation Council
2020–  Technology Academy Finland TAF, Member of the Board
2020– TT-säätiö, Chairman of the Board
2020– EVA and ETLA, Member of the Board
2016– Boardman Oy, partner
2005–  EM Group Oy, Member of the Board
1999–  Ensto Group, Member of the Board


Jukka Ohtola

born 1967, M.Sc. (Econ.), CEFA
2007– Prime Minister's Office, Ministerial Adviser
1997–2007 Ministry of Trade and Industry, Senior Auditor
Positions of trust:   
 2021– Finnish Minerals Group, Board Member


Laura Raitio

born 1962, Lic.Sc. (Tech.)

2014–2017  Diacor Medical Services Oy, CEO
1990–2014    Various leadership positions at Ahlstrom Oyj, most recently Executive Vice President of Building and Energy business area from 2009 to 2014 and a member of Corporate Executive team

 Positions of trust:

2021- Alko Ltd, Board Member, Chairman of the Board 2022 - 
2019– Boardman Ltd, Chairman of the Board
2019– Securities Market Association, Board Member
2018– Helsinki Deaconess Institute, Chairman of the Board
2017– Raute Corporation, Board Member, Chairman of the Board 2019 -
2015– Suominen Corporation, Board Member